For the last few weeks of school, my classroom was engaged in learning through Passion Projects!  I took inspiration from Genius Hour and other project-based ideas and had my students make a list of topics they loved.   They then had to narrow their topic and then turn their topic into a question/experiment/math problem!    

Some awesome examples:

– How many different outcomes of shish kebabs are there with 4 meats and 7 vegetable options?   The student then made some of these outcomes to share with his class

– How do I make the best chocolate pie? This student made 24 different “tarts” that explored various outcomes when you change one of the ingredients (amount of sugar, type of chocolate, amount of salt, cooking time etc)

– How do I make a video game?  The students used Scratch coding to make a basic game!

This has been an engaging and exciting way to end the year.  We have 3 days left.

